Current Alerts and Notices (View all)

Road conditions(2) Swimming pools notice(1)

Dunedin City Council – Kaunihera-a-rohe o Otepoti

Enviroschools is a national programme delivered in partnership with local councils.

What is Enviroschools?

The aim of Enviroschools is to foster a generation that think and act sustainably.

Enviroschools is a national programme delivered in partnership with local councils. It involves students taking action to create healthier, more peaceful and sustainable communities. It’s about the wellbeing of the whole school, community and eco-system, and working out how to live so that our communities and economy nourish the natural systems that give us life.

Key aspects of the programme that make it effective and valued by schools:

  • Student-led action
  • Support from an Enviroschools Facilitator
  • Long-term nature of an Enviroschools journey
  • Integration of Māori Perspectives
  • Focus on community involvement
  • Emphasis on participants networking with each other
  • Links made to global issues
  • The Enviroschools visioning and reflection process

Data from the 2017 Enviroschools census (PDF, 1.5MB, new window)


What happens when our school joins?

Schools joining the programme sign an agreement that outlines the partnerships and commitments involved. Schools receive the Enviroschools resource kit and handbook and a trained Enviroschools facilitator works with staff and students. Facilitators organise hui for teachers and students focusing on key sustainability issues. Hui upskill and energise teachers and students to take action in their communities and provide an opportunity for schools to share their sustainability challenges and successes. To find out more, contact the Otago Regional Coordinator at, or visit the  Enviroschools website (link to external website, new window).

You can also follow us on the Enviroschools Otago Facebook page.

The Enviroschools Programme is funded in Dunedin by the Dunedin City Council. In Otago the programme is supported by the Otago Regional Council, Clutha District Council, Waitaki District Council, Queenstown Lakes District Council, and Central Otago District Council.

Still didn't find what you were looking for?