Current Alerts and Notices (View all)

Road conditions(2) Swimming pools notice(1)

Dunedin City Council – Kaunihera-a-rohe o Otepoti
Council meeting room.

Mayor and Councillors

The Dunedin City Council is comprised of the Mayor and 14 Councillors. The Council is responsible for governance of the city and setting its future direction to meet our vision: Dunedin is one of the world’s great small cities.

Dunedin has six community boards; Mosgiel-Taieri, Otago Peninsula, Saddle Hill, Strath Taieri and West Harbour. Each board is made up of six elected representatives and a councillor. The role of the boards is to provide advice to the Council on matters affecting their communities and to advocate for their communities.

Nature of the Council

The Dunedin City Council is elected every 3 years. The Dunedin City Council elections are currently conducted under the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system. You can find more information about the STV system on the Single Transferable Vote website (new window).

The Council is comprised of the Mayor, and fourteen Councillors who represent the citizens of Dunedin.

The Council is responsible for the governance of, and setting the strategic direction for the city, and ensuring that the Council works towards meeting the community outcomes that it has set for itself through the Long Term Council Community Plan (LTCCP).

The direction and policies set by the Council are then implemented and managed by the Chief Executive through Council staff.

Standing Orders - Dunedin City Council

The Standing Orders set out rules for the conduct meetings of the Dunedin City Council.

These Standing Orders will apply to all meetings of the Council, and its committees and subcommittees other than the Hearings Committee unless otherwise provided for.

Still didn't find what you were looking for?