What should it be used for? How should it look? Should it be returned to its former glory? Should we do something new? Who should use it?
Occupying a key site in the Warehouse Precinct, the Sammy’s building has a long history.
The theatre was originally called the Agricultural Hall and was operated by the A&P Society. In 1902 it was redeveloped and re-opened as His Majesty’s Theatre. In the 1980s it was converted into the restaurant and nightclub, Sammy’s.
Sammy’s was an iconic venue for Dunedin music and hosted Dunedin artists associated with labels like Flying Nun, Rational Records and Xpressway, as well as numerous national and international music tours, festivals and events.
The DCC purchased the Crawford Street building in 2017.